Planting the Seed in Society

Hello world! My name is Caleb Hicks. I’m from the tiny town of Dublin, Alabama, and am truly blessed that I was raised in such a great place. God and family are two very important aspects in my life. I am fortunate enough to live close to most of my family, and that has impacted me in unimaginable ways.

I am currently studying at Troy University and majoring in multimedia journalism. When I first arrived at Troy, I was completely lost as far as a decision on my major. I chose to take a beginning journalism course, during my first semester, and I was hooked.

Journalism is just one of the things that I am truly passionate about. Another is having an agriculture background, from both sides of my family. Agriculture is one of the largest industries in the world. Without it, we would have immense food shortages. As I said before, agriculture runs deep on both sides of my family. Both of my grandfathers were, and still are, heavily involved within the industry. I am also involved with the Alabama Farmers Federation (ALFA) in the Young Farmers program.

In this blog I will discuss agriculture in my life and also how it affects the rest of the world, but I will be doing this from a journalistic aspect. I will be posting to this blog at least once a week, so watch out!

I would like for everyone to see that agriculture is an important piece of our society, and how it affects us as a civilization. I hope you enjoy these posts and possibly even learn a thing or two. If you would like to discuss or comment on any of these subjects, please feel free to do so. I look forward to many postings and even some discussions.

Until next time.

Leave a comment